Family · Parenting

1st Time Baby vs. 2nd Time Baby

 Looking back at our 1st pregnancy, we see how different our mentality is with the pregnancy process and raising the baby. While we love the kids the same, the whole experience gets a little…shall we say…less paranoid?

Below are a few different funny views and executions from being a 1st time parent to being a 2nd. Do you have any of your own? Share in the comments:


1st time pregnancy: I need to take my vitamins, eat a balanced meal, drink lots of water and carry an emergency pack of healthy food

2nd time pregnancy: What were those four basic food groups Will Farell in the movie Elf said to stick to? They sound perfect.


1st time pregnancy: MUST stay away from fish, cold cuts, chocolate or anything caffeine!

2nd time pregancy: As long as it is in moderation, it won’t be the end of the world.


1st time labor: Honey don’t forget to bring the 14 cameras, extra camera lenses, video cameras and we should stop to buy a disposable camera just in case.

2nd time labor: camera phone…check…


1st time labor: let’s put the 12 suitcases, 3 duffle bags, and 2 hand bags I packed 7 months ago in the truck now. We need to be ready.

2nd time labor: I forgot the grocery bag of things to bring. Can you stop at Walgreens on your way and get me a toothbrush and deodorant?


1st time baby at home: Oh no!!! The baby bumped her head on the table! There’s only 6 inches of padding on it!

2nd time baby at home: walk it off baby. It will make you stronger. You will be fine. I hope the table didn’t get scratched.


1st time baby drops the pacifier: I need to burn this, open a new package and pray to the baby gods that she takes the new one!

2nd time baby drops the pacifier: Hold on baby, let me wipe this on my leg, clean it with my mouth and dry it with my sleeve. Ok it’s like brand new. Here you go.


1st time baby with a sitter: I know you’re my mom but here’s my number, my husbands number, the number to the restaurant…and when I get there, I will ask my server for his too. You MUST call me every 30 minutes to each number to check in!

2nd time baby with a sitter: it’s my neighbor’s cousins boyfriends 16 year old sister. She’s charging us 7 bucks an hour. I think I forgot to leave her our number. Oh well. I’m sure she will get a hold of us somehow if she really needs us.


1st time baby 1st birthday: family, friends, neighbors, coworkers, mailman, and dry cleaner invited to the biggest 1 year old Disney themed extravaganza ever to be thrown

2nd time baby 1st birthday: Honey…where’s the candle we save for power failures? I want to put it next to this hostess cupcake while we sing Happy Bday before putting him to bed.

Leave a comment